Star Trek XI

star_trek_movie_poster_comic_conwww.startrekmovie.com

Swanner: I knew I was going to love the new Star Trek movie when Captain Pike called for three to head to the planet. Kirk, Sulu and Chief Engineer Olson. To anyone who ever watched any of the series knows that if your name is called and you’re not a main character…you’re going to die. They didn’t let me down.

Judd: Did you notice that he was wearing a red shirt? That’s another tip of the hat to the original series. I wasn’t sure what to expect from this movie. I like Star Trek, but I’m not a fan. Director/Producer J.J Abrams has a ton of hits and misses under his belt. I truly went to this movie with an open mind, and I was pleasantly surprised. I thought the story was just complicated enough to keep me thinking and the action sequences were grand without being frantic.

Swanner: Don’t forget that the cast is really cute. They sure did get a nice mix of good-looking people. I was a big fan of the original series so I was hoping for the best when I walked in the theatre. I think when you play around with classic material you have to make it your own…sure, but you have to please the fans so it doesn’t feel like your changing their heroes. I think Abrams balanced that nicely here. The storyline starts on the day of James T Kirk’s birth and we follow his life (quickly) to the time he graduates from Star Fleet. Once aboard the Enterprise, Kirk and crew battles a group of rogue Romulans with a very big ship.

Judd: I thought the plot device Abraham’s used to make it his own was really smart – he set this new franchise in an alternate time. Nero, an evil Romulan from the future, comes back and changes the course of history. It’s so simple that it’s brilliant. Abram’s has completely reopened the franchise back to the original crew and whatever spins off from there.

Swanner: Exactly, He’s basically changed everything that has been made with the time traveling plot. So anything that happens from here is fresh and heaven forbid they might do something that every Trekkie would know…they blame it of the Nero and move on. You’re right, brilliant. I really liked how all the characters get introduced, and the relationships that the characters have early on. I didn’t expect to have as much fun as I did. I know I would have liked the movie even better if the bratty kid was talking behind us the whole movie.

Judd: I also liked that the characters weren’t all introduced at once. We got Uhura, Spock, Bones, and Kirk right off the bat, but the rest of the crew we met one by one as the movie progressed. I know it kept me anxious to see when we were going to meet a new yet familiar friend. And you had to mention that child… Ugh, what the fuck is up with parents that feel the need to bring a three year old to a two hour movie? If a parent is that intent on seeing a movie and can’t get a sitter, lock the bastard in the closet with some cheerios and a portable DVD player – maybe one of those water dispensers for hamsters. I should not be subject to someone’s god awful children because they really wanted to see a movie. You know what? You should have thought of that before you decided not to pull out!

Swanner: Please…it was a cool rainy day. That’s what the trunk is for. People should only be allowed to bring children under five to a movie that have animals that talk. It all goes back to people thinking they can do whatever they do at home in the theatre. My motto is “Shut up and watch the movie”. Back to the movie review. I thought the film moved great, the action and special effects were top notch. I think what you said earlier is the really star of this film, the franchise has been completely revived. After 40 years I would have thought it was over but this proves me wrong and I’m happy to be wrong…this time.

Judd: I think as long as Abrams doesn’t get too carried away and make the characters do something that is way out of line with their personalities, I think they can churn at least three more movies out of this reboot and keep the Original Trekkies happy.

Swanner: 4 Stars
Judd: 4 Stars

Leave a comment