Indiana Jones and The Kingdom of The Crystal Skull

Official Movie Website:   Indiana Jones and The Kingdom of The Crystal Skull

Judd: After nineteen years, Harrison Ford dons his crushable felt fedora once more inIndiana Jones and The Kingdom of The Crystal Skull. It’s the mid fifties and Indie is fighting soviet communists who are trying to discover a way to control America through ESP. Ford is joined by Cate Blanchett as the femme fatale, Ray Winstone, John Hurt, Jim Broadbent, Karen Allen and Shia LaBeouf.

Swanner: Nicely done. That really gives a nice rounded description without give anything away. You might also mention that Steven Spielberg directs and George Lucas produces. What’s funny about that is that Indiana Jones is all about Harrison Ford for me. I had completely forgotten about Spielberg and Lucas. I must admit that when the movie first starts Ford did look really old but it’s like watching a British movie…at the beginning you have no idea what they’re saying but five minutes in, total comprehension. Five minutes in Harrison Ford is still Indie and I was happy.

Judd: I was worried that Ford would be too old to be playing Indiana Jones, and he is, but I think it was believable in context. Shia’s character, greaser Mutt Williams, makes old age cracks throughout the movie and Jones also comments on his own age. I liked the movie; I thought it was well done. I think it is a great a way to bring back a character for his last hurrah, but I did have some nitpicky problems with the movie in as far as the plot and the special effects.

Swanner: You don’t go to a popcorn movie and nitpick about plot. Those are the rules…remember Die Hard 4? That was about as ridiculous as you can get and I loved every minute of it. This is the same. I’d go more in to it but I don’t want to reveal plot points. Which special effects are you having problems with?

Judd: I didn’t like the demise of the bad guy. I knew what was going to happen, but seeing it happen made me think that it didn’t quite feel right for the movie. I also thought there was way too much CGI. I know that special effects have progressed by leaps and bounds over the years, but it was too much. Again, it didn’t feel right for the feel of the movie. It was too glossy for a movie that’s supposed to be about a man that gets chased by poison dart blowing pygmies and swings with a bullwhip.

Swanner: Have you seen any of the earlier movies? It’s all about the special effects…think Die Hard 4 and what a popcorn movie is. How were they supposed to achieve some of those effects when the two leads are a few steps from walkers. It’s summer fun, it’s all about adventure, action, big laughs, a bull whip and Shia LaBeouf. (Who is 22 years old as of 6/11)

Judd: OK, fine. The special effects were great, the CGI was even better. In fact now that you say that, it needed more. Every movie ever made needs more CGI, because look at what masterpieces CGI overkill has given us. Oeuvres like Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, 300, and Beowulf. Yes please ILM, paint more needless impossible stunts into every frame of a movie. I can’t get enough of it.

Swanner: I’m detecting sarcasm. I’m not the enemy here…that would be Gwyneth Paltrow. I’m just saying that summer is driven by the special effect movies and I’d expect nothing less from this movie. I saw Raiders at the first showing in 1981 and it took me back watching this one. I loved it even with special effects.

Swanner: 4 Stars

Judd: 3½ Stars

Leave a comment